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PURPOSE

The purpose of this administrative directive is 1) to establish procedures for ensuring that sex offenders under
the supervision of the Department of Corrections (DOC) are registered with the Vermont Sex Offender
Registry, if applicable; 2) to establish procedures for the determination of high-risk sex offenders and those
offenders who are not in compliance with DOC-recommended treatment; and 3) to establish procedures for the
release of incarcerated sex offenders.

POLICY

It is the policy of the Department of Corrections that sex offenders under DOC supervision or in DOC custody
are registered and in compliance with the Vermont Sex Offender Registry requirements, and that determinations
of high risk and failure to comply with DOC-recommended treatment employ best practice in making such
assessments.

AUTHORITY
13 V.S.A. Subchapter 3, Sex Offender Registration and Department of Corrections; 13 V.S.A, 8§88 5401 to 5414;

Act No. 157 of the 2003-2004 legislative session, Act No. 58, Section 6, of the 2008-2009 legislative session.
Department of Corrections APA Rule # 05-013, Determination of High Risk and Failure to Comply with
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Treatment for Purposes of Sex Offender Internet Registry, 2005. Department of Public Safety APA Rule # 04-
41, Vermont Sex Offender Registry, 2004.

REFERENCE

American Correctional Association Standards for Adult Correctional Institutions, 4" Edition, #4-4102.
Department Administrative Directives #371.05 Offender Responsibility Plan, #418.01 Out of State Movement,
and #502.01 Victim Notification — Automated and Non-automated.

DEFINITIONS

Department of Public Safety (DPS): A State of Vermont Department that houses the Vermont Crime
Information Center which is responsible for overseeing the Sex Offender Registry.

Employed: Carries on a vocation. Includes employment that is full-time or part-time for a period of time
exceeding 14 days, or for an aggregate period of time exceeding 30 days during a calendar year, whether
financially compensated, volunteered, or for the purpose of governmental or educational benefit.

High Risk: Statutorily defined as a high degree of dangerousness that a sex offender poses to others.
Dangerousness includes the probability of a sexual reoffense. 13 VSA § 5401(16)

High-risk Designation: When a sex offender has been found by the Sex Offender Review Committee to meet
the criteria of high-risk for purposes of Internet registration.

“Max-out”: When an inmate completes their maximum sentence while incarcerated and is released without any
supervision by the Department of Corrections.

Non-compliance with Treatment: Refusing treatment recommended by the DOC, or failing to remain in and/or
complete a treatment program recommended by the DOC.

Non-compliant High Risk Sex Offender: A sex offender defined in 13 VSA § 5411d who:
1. Isincarcerated on or after July 1, 2007 for lewd and lascivious conduct with a child as defined in 13
VSA, § 2602, sexual assault as defined in 13 VSA § 3252, aggravated sexual assault as defined in 13
VSA 8 3253, or any attempt to commit a crime listed herein or a comparable offense in another
jurisdiction of the United States;
2. Is not subject to indeterminate life sentences under 13 VSA 8§ 3271,
Is designated as a high-risk sex offender pursuant to 13 VSA § 5411b; and
4. 1s non-compliant with DOC-recommended treatment as defined by Department of Corrections
administrative directive.

w

Release (as defined in 13 VSA 8 5401(8): Release from confinement or custody or placement into the
community for any reason including release on bail pending appeal, probation, parole, furlough, work release,
early release, alternative sanctions, house arrest, daily interrupt, community placement, or completion of
sentence. It shall also mean probation or parole supervision of an out-of-state sex offender under an interstate
agreement or compact.

Risk Assessment: A variety of criminogenic-specific assessment tools used by the Department of Corrections in
order to identify evidence-based, objective, reliable, and valid predictions of offender risk to re-offend, while
providing a reliable means of measuring offender change over time, through reassessment. The tools identified
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are not exclusive or all inclusive, and may change based on results of research and more effective methods
becoming available.

Sex Offender: A sex offender as defined in Vermont statute, reflected in 13 VSA subchapter 3, § 5401 (10),
and as defined in federal law.
A. A person who is convicted of any of the following Vermont offenses:
i Sexual assault as defined in 13 VVSA 8 3252;
ii Aggravated sexual assault as defined in 13 VSA § 3253;
ii Lewd and lascivious conduct as defined in 13 VSA § 2601,
iv Sexual abuse of a vulnerable adult as defined in § 1379 of 13 VSA,
Y Second or subsequent conviction for voyeurism as defined in 13 VSA § 2605(b) or (c);
vi Kidnapping with intent to commit sexual assault as defined in 13 VSA § 2405(a)(1)(D);
vii  Aggravated sexual assault of a child in violation of 13 VSA § 3253a.
viii  An attempt to commit any offense listed in this section A.

B. A person who is convicted of any of the following offenses against a victim who is a minor, except that, for
purposes of this section, conduct which is criminal only because of the age of the victim shall not be considered
an offense for purposes of the Registry if the perpetrator is under the age of 18 and the victim is at least 12 years
old:

i.  Any offense listed in section A;

ii.  Kidnapping as defined in 13 VSA 8 2405(a)(1)(D);

iii.  Lewd and lascivious conduct with a child as defined in 13 VSA § 2602;

iv. Slave traffic as defined in 13 VSA § 2635;

v.  Sexual exploitation of children as defined in 13 VSA 8§ 2822-2828;

vi.  Procurement or solicitation as defined in 13 VSA § 2632(a)(6);

vii. Aggregated sexual assault of a child as defined in 13 VSA § 3253(a);

viii. Sex trafficking of children or sex trafficking by force, fraud, or coercion as defined in 13 VSA

8§ 2635a;
iX. Sexual exploitation of a minor as defined in 13 VSA § 3258(b); or
X. An attempt to commit any offense listed in this section B.

C. A person who has a federal conviction in federal court for any of the following offenses:

i.  Sex trafficking of children as defined in 18 U.S.C. § 1591;

ii.  Aggravated sexual abuse as defined in 18 U.S.C. § 2241;

iii.  Sexual abuse as defined in 18 U.S.C. § 2242;

iv.  Sexual abuse of a minor or ward as defined in 18 U.S.C. § 2243;

v.  Abusive sexual contact as defined in 18 U.S.C. § 2244,

vi.  Offenses resulting in death as defined in 18 U.S.C. § 2245;

vii. Sexual exploitation of children as defined in 18 U.S.C. § 2251,

viii. Selling or buying of children as defined in 18 U.S.C. § 2251A;

ix. Material involving the sexual exploitation of minors as defined in 18 U.S.C. § 2252;

X.  Material containing child pornography as defined in 18 U.S.C. § 2252A;

xi.  Production of sexually explicit depictions of a minor for import into the United States as defined in
18 U.S.C. § 2260;

xii.  Transportation of a minor for illegal sexual activity as defined in 18 U.S.C. § 2421,

xiii. Coercion and enticement of a minor for illegal sexual activity as defined in 18 U.S.C. § 2422;

xiv. Transportation of minors for illegal sexual activity, travel with the intent to engage in illicit sexual
conduct with a minor, and engaging in illicit sexual conduct in foreign places as defined in 18
U.S.C. § 2423;
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xv. Transmitting information about a minor to further criminal sexual conduct as defined in 18 U.S.C.
8§ 2425.
xvi. An attempt to commit any offense listed in this section C.

D. A person who takes up residence within this state, other than within a correctional facility, and who has been
convicted in any jurisdiction within the United States, including a state territory, commonwealth, the District of
Columbia or military, federal or tribal court, for a sex crime the elements of which would constitute a crime
under 13 VSA 8§ 5401(10) if committed in this state.

E. A person 18 years of age or older who resides in this state other than in a correctional facility, and who is
currently required to register, or prior to taking up residence within this state was required to register as a sex
offender in any jurisdiction of the United States, including a state, territory, commonwealth, the District of
Columbia, or military, federal or tribal court; except that, for purpose of this section, conduct which is criminal
only because of the age of the victim shall not be considered an offense for the purpose of the Registry if the
perpetrator is under the age of 18 and the victim is at least 12 years old.

F. A non-resident sex offender who crosses into Vermont and who carries on a vocation (is employed) or is a
student.

Sex Offender Review Committee (referred to hereafter as Committee): A committee of five (5) people
appointed by the Commissioner to determine if referred cases meet the designation of high-risk established in
statute for purposes of Internet registration.

Student: A person who is enrolled on a full-time or a part-time basis in any public or private educational
institution in Vermont, including any secondary school, trade or professional institution, or institutions of higher
learning.

Vermont Crime Information Center (VCIC): Part of the Department of Public Safety (DPS); it is a State
repository for all criminal histories, including identifying information.

Vermont Sex Offender Internet Registry: A list containing names of sex offenders posted to the Internet for
public use, established by statute at the Vermont Criminal Information Center (VCIC.)

Vermont Sex Offender Reqgistry: A registry established by statute in 1996 at the Department of Public Safety
(DPS) Vermont Criminal Information Center in compliance with federal law. It contains information on all sex
offenders residing or employed in Vermont, or attending a post-secondary educational institution in Vermont.

Vermont Treatment Program for Sexual Abusers (VTPSA): A Vermont correctional facility and community-
based DOC treatment program for offenders convicted of sexually-related offenses.

PROCEDURAL GUIDELINES

There are statutory requirements governing the Vermont Sex Offender Registry and Internet Registry. Because
sex offenders, as defined by statute, who are in the custody of, or under supervision by, the Department of
Corrections still must comply with Registry requirements whether they are incarcerated or in the community,
Department staff have an important relationship with the Department of Public Safety Vermont Criminal
Information Center, which oversees the Registry. Staff have a responsibility to inform sex offenders of their
Registry requirements, as well as to notify VCIC (and document that notification) of the status of an offender,
especially when that status changes. This includes compliance or non-compliance with DOC-recommended
treatment.
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1. Vermont Sex Offender Registry General Considerations

a.

The law requires all sex offenders convicted in the State of Vermont after July 1, 1996, as well as those
convicted in any state before July 1, 1996 who were supervised in the community by the Commissioner
of Corrections as of July 1, 1996, to register with the Sex Offender Registry established at the
Department of Public Safety’s (DPS) Vermont Criminal Information Center (VCIC.)

I. The reporting requirement remains in effect for ten (10) years after the sex offender has “maxed” from
prison, or they are discharged from probation, or their parole has expired, whichever is later.

ii. 13 VSA 8§ 5407(f): The individual shall register as a sex offender and shall continue to comply with
the above for life except if incarcerated, if that person:
a) Has at least one (1) prior conviction for an offense described in 13 VSA § 5401(10);
b) Has been convicted of sexual assault or aggravated sexual assault (13 VSA 88 3252 & 3253);
c) Has been determined to be a sexually violent predator (13 VSA § 5405); or
d) Has been designated as a non-compliant high-risk sex offender (13 VSA § 5411d).

Determination of non-compliance with treatment will only apply to offenders who did not comply with
DOC-recommended treatment after March 1, 2005.

i. Persons who are classified by the court as Sexually Violent Predators (13 VSA 8 5405) are required to
report every 90 days (13 VSA § 5407(2) to the Sex Offender Registry and within 24 hours of a change
of address.

ii. Persons who are designated as Non-compliant High-Risk are required to report in person every 30
days (13 VSA § 5411d(b) to DPS or the local law enforcement agency and prior to a change of address.
iii. Requirements for other offenders are detailed in Vermont Sex Offender Registry Notification of
Requirement to Register Form, Attachment 1.

After ten (10) years have elapsed from the completion of the sentence, a person required to register as a
sex offender for life, pursuant to § 5407 of Title 13, may petition the District Court for a termination of
notification. A registrant may petition the court to be removed from the Registry once every 60 months
thereafter.

A high-risk sex offender may petition the Sex Offender Review Committee to remove their
designation, and if the sex offender’s petition is denied, they may appeal to the Superior Court 13 VSA
§ 5411b.

A high-risk sex offender who has been determined to be non-compliant by the Department may petition
the District Court (13 VSA 8 5411d(f) once every five (5) years from the date of the designation after
successfully completing treatment, in order to be relieved of the heightened Registry requirements
outlined in 13 VSA § 5411(d).

2. General Responsibilities of Probation and Parole Officer (PO)/Facility Caseworker
The PO/Caseworker will:
a. Determine at Intake/Initial Interview whether the offender/inmate who is required to register on the VT

Sex Offender Registry is in fact registered, by doing the following:
i. Conduct a record check on the offender, read it when received, and determine if they have a
current or prior sex offense that requires them to register;
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ii. Then check the VCIC Sex Offender Registry to see if the sex offender is registered.

b. Inform the sex offender of the specific requirements of their duty to register (Vermont Sex Offender
Registry Notification of Requirement to Register Form, Attachment 1a);

c. Require the sex offender to read and sign the Notification Form, acknowledging that the duty of the sex
offender to register has been explained and is understood,

d. Ensure that the Notification Form is completed by or for the sex offender, and inform them that it is their
responsibility to keep the registration information current, using appropriate forms;

e. Transmit the completed Notification Form and a digital photo promptly to the VCIC;

f. Inform a sex offender who has been convicted of a sexual crime in a state or jurisdiction other than
Vermont, but who is now in custody or under supervision in Vermont for a non-sexual crime, of the
specific requirements of their duty to register (Vermont Sex Offender Notification of Requirement to
Register — Registrants Convicted in a State or Jurisdiction other than Vermont, Attachment 1b.)

g. Inform a sex offender who has been accepted for transfer under the Interstate Commission of Adult
Supervision (Interstate Compact) that 1) if they change residence to another state, they are required to
notify VCIC of the new address (Sex Offender Change of Address* Employment* Education form,
Attachment 2); and 2) if the new state has a registration requirement, they are also required to register
with the designated law enforcement agency in the new state no later than three (3) days after
establishing residence in that state (in accordance with Interstate Compact procedures); and 3) they must
be in compliance with the receiving state’s Sex Offender Registry requirements.

h. Inform the sex offender who is compliant with DOC-recommended treatment, but has not completed
that treatment at the time of their release from incarceration and/or supervision, that they will be
required to submit proof to VCIC of their participation in community-based treatment (Certification of
Compliance with DOC-recommended Treatment, Attachment 6.) Give the sex offender blank copies of
the letter (Attachment 6) that they will fill out and use to show proof of continued compliance with
treatment every month. The sex offender must submit this letter to VCIC once (1x) a month until the
Sex Offender Review Committee determines DOC-recommended treatment has successfully been
completed.

i. Inform the sex offender they need to notify their PO within 24 hours of changing their address,
employment, or schooling;

j. Notify VCIC either electronically or in writing (using the Sex Offender Registry Change of
Address*Employment*Education form- Attachment 2) within 24 hours of when the sex offender has
notified their PO of a change of address, employment, or schooling;

k. Notify VCIC of any change in the PO or field office supervising the sex offender on Attachment 2.

I. Notify the Community upon Release;

i The Facility Caseworker will complete the Law Enforcement Notification: Designated High Risk
Sex Offender Release form (Attachment 7) if the sex offender has been determined high-risk, at
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least six (6) months before the offender’s release from incarceration (either on furlough or
“maxing out™), and send it to the offender’s PO.

The Caseworker will complete the Law Enforcement Notification: Standard Sex Offender
Release form (Attachment 8) if the sex offender has not been determined high-risk, at least three
(3) months before the offender’s release, and send it to the PO.

The PO will send the completed Law Enforcement Notification to any appropriate law
enforcement agency. Sending the form will supplement personal contact with the local agency by
the PO.

If the sex offender serves the total maximum term of incarceration (“maxes out”), and the
proposed residence (if known) may place either children or community members at undue risk,
the PO will inform the Department for Children and Families (DCF) and the local police chief
prior to the offender’s release.

m. Evaluate offenders for high-risk determination and send documentation to the Sex Offender Review
Committee at the required time. (See Section 11.)

3. Facility Referral to the Registry

A Vermont Sex Offender Registry Notification form (Attachment 1a) will be completed by the offender or for
the offender by the Facility Caseworker, and signed by the offender, acknowledging that their duty to register
and report periodically has been explained and is understood.

a. The Caseworker will put this Registry information in electronic case notes, place a copy of the form in
the offender’s file, and give a copy to the offender.

b. Sex offenders who are housed in a correctional facility Transition Unit and who are released on daily
furlough into the community for work search or employment are also required to complete and sign a
Registry Notification Form.

The Facility Caseworker will ensure that Attachment 1a is filled out and sent to VCIC no less
than ten (10) days before they are first released to the community for transition work search.
Under Conditions of Release on Attachment 1a, the Caseworker will circle ‘furlough’ and write
in “Transition Work Search.”

. The Caseworker will ensure that Attachment 1a is also filled out and sent to VVCIC before the

offender is released for employment the first time. Under Conditions of Release, the Caseworker
will circle “furlough’ and write in “Transition Employment.”

The Caseworker will also ensure that the offender fills out Change of
Address*Employment*Education (Attachment 2) if the offender changes employment while in
the Transition Unit. The Caseworker will notify VCIC in writing or electronically within 24
hours of notice of the change.

The Caseworker will make a personal notification (no less than10 days before release as above)
to the victim registered in VANS (automated victim notification service) regarding a sex
offender in the Transition Unit who is going out on furlough for work search or employment.

c. The Caseworker will transmit the Notification to Register form and a digital photo to the VCIC no less
than ten (10) days before the offender’s release into the community. (See form for address and Fax
number.)

d. Release on Furlough: Within 24 hours of the offender’s release from confinement on furlough, the

assigned Facility Caseworker will send an email to VCIC stating that the offender has been released, and
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will also fill out and send the Change of Treatment*Supervision Status form (Attachment 3.) The
Caseworker will put the email in electronic case notes.

e. Release - Max-out: The Caseworker will ensure that VCIC has been notified within 24 hours, as above,
of a sex offender’s release who is “maxing out” by filling out the Change of Treatment* Supervision
form (Attachment 3) and sending it to VCIC. The Caseworker will also email VCIC within 24 hours and
document in electronic case notes.

f. The Caseworker will ensure that if the offender is designated as non-compliant high-risk at the time of
their release from confinement in a correctional facility, the offender reads and signs the Notice Form
Regarding Non-compliant High-risk Sex Offenders (Attachment 9.) The Caseworker will then forward
this form to VCIC no less than thirty (30) days prior to the offender’s release.

4. Field Referral to the Registry
a. Within 24 hours of the offender’s initial intake at a Probation & Parole Office, District Managers will
ensure that the following occurs:

i. Each sex offender admitted from the Court has signed a Notification of Requirement to Register
Form (Attachment 1a or 1b) acknowledging that their duty to register and report has been
explained and is understood, and has completed the required registration information;

ii. The PO has transmitted the form and a digital photo of the offender to VCIC within 24 hours (see
form for address and Fax number); and

iii. The PO has put this information in DOC electronic case notes, placed a copy in the offender file,
and given a copy to the offender.

b. Atintake the PO will verify that the facility Caseworker notified VCIC within 24 hours of the offender’s
release (through the Change of Treatment* Supervision Status form, Attachment 3.)

c. When a sex offender who is on probation has been discharged by the court, or whose parole or sentence
has expired, the PO will email VVCIC within 24 hours and place a note in electronic case notes. The PO
will also mail VCIC a Change of Treatment * Supervision Status form, which includes the status of the
offender’s DOC-recommended treatment.

d. If asex offender under DOC community supervision is incarcerated for any type of furlough, probation,
or parole violation, or new charge, the PO will complete the Change of Address form (Attachment 2) and
circle 6.a. They will send this to VCIC within 24 hours of their knowledge of the incarceration. When
the offender is released, the PO will circle 6.b. and send the completed Attachment 2 to VCIC within 24
hours of their knowledge of the release. Either must be documented in electronic case notes. This
requirement applies to violations or new charges for sex offenses or non-sex offenses.

e. If the sex offender’s assigned PO changes at any time, the District Manager will ensure that the newly
assigned PO notifies VCIC by email as soon as possible and documents in electronic case notes.

5. Refusal To Comply with Registration (Field and Facility)
a. Should a sex offender refuse to sign the identification, registration, or notification documents, or to have
a digital photo taken, the person witnessing the refusal will make an affidavit describing the refusal. The
affidavit will be sent to the State's Attorney who obtained the conviction, with a copy to VCIC.
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b. The Caseworker/PO will also immediately inform VCIC by email of the offender’s refusal, and will put
the information in electronic case notes.

6. Compliance with DOC-Recommended Treatment
a. Facility Responsibilities

i. No less than 90 days prior to release, the Caseworker will determine if the sex offender is in
compliance with a treatment program recommended by DOC.

ii. If the offender is in compliance, the Caseworker will complete the DOC-recommended
Treatment Compliance and Non-compliance Checklist (Attachment 4) and review all
documentation with their supervisor.

iii. Notice to VCIC

The Caseworker will submit the completed Checklist (Attachment 4) to VCIC within five (5)
business days prior to the offender’s release.

b. Field Responsibilities

i. Within ten (10) days of a sex offender being placed on community supervision by the Court,
the PO will determine the offender’s level of compliance with recommended treatment.

ii. If the offender is in compliance, the PO will complete the DOC-recommended Treatment
Compliance and Non-compliance Checklist (Attachment 4) and review all documentation with
their supervisor.

iii. Notice to VCIC: The PO will submit the completed Checklist (Attachment 4) to VCIC within
five (5) business days.

iv. When the offender has completed treatment, the PO will complete the Change of
Treatment*Supervision Status Form (Attachment 3) and send to VCIC with five (5) business
days.

7. Determined Compliant but Have NOT Completed Treatment Prior to Their Sentence Expiration Date
No later than thirty (30) days prior to the expiration date of a sentence, the PO will notify the sex offender of
how to maintain their compliance status. The PO will inform them of their responsibilities should they choose
to complete treatment. These responsibilities are:
a. Every thirty (30) days the offender will submit to VCIC Attachment 6, Certification of Compliance with
DOC-recommended Treatment.

b. They will do this each month (1x a month) until the treatment provider submits a letter of completion to
the Sex Offender Review Committee and the Committee has determined that the offender has completed
treatment.

8. Non-compliance with DOC-recommended Treatment
a. Facility Responsibilities

i. No less than 90 business days prior to release, the Caseworker will determine if the sex
offender is in compliance with a treatment program recommended by DOC.

ii. If the offender is determined not to be in compliance, the Caseworker will complete the DOC-
recommended Treatment Compliance and Non-compliance Checklist (Attachment 4). The
Caseworker will review all documentation with their supervisor.

iii. Notice to VCIC

The Caseworker will submit the completed Checklist (Attachment 4) and the completed VT Sex
Offender Registry Notification of Requirement to Register (Attachment 1a or 1b) to VCIC no
less than 90 business days prior to the offender’s release.

iv. Notice to Offender
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The Caseworker will notify the offender in writing using the Sex Offender Notice of Non-
Compliance Letter (Attachment 5.)

v. Notice to Victim

The Caseworker will make a personal notification (within 5 days as above) to the victim
registered in VANS regarding a sex offender who is non-compliant with DOC-recommended
treatment.

b. Field Responsibilities:
i. Within 10 days of a sex offender being placed on community supervision, the PO will determine the
offender’s level of compliance with recommended treatment.
ii. If the offender is determined not to be in compliance, the PO will complete the DOC-recommended
Treatment Compliance and Non-Compliance Checklist (Attachment 4) and review all documentation
with their supervisor.
iii. Notice to VCIC
The PO will submit the completed Checklist (Attachment 4) to VCIC no later than five (5) business
days after the determination of non-compliance.
iv. Notice to Offender
If staff have determined that the offender is not in compliance, the PO will notify the offender in
writing using the Sex Offender Notice of Non-Compliance Letter (Attachment 5.)
v. Notice to Victim
The PO will make a personal notification (within 10 days as above) to the victim registered in
VANS regarding a sex offender who is non-compliant with DOC-recommended treatment.

9. Subsequent Compliance with Treatment — under DOC Supervision

A sex offender currently under supervision, who has previously been determined to be in non-compliance with
DOC-recommended treatment, can come into compliance upon successful participation in a treatment program
recommended by the DOC for a minimum of twelve (12) consecutive months of participation.

a. The PO will request a letter from the offender’s current treatment provider verifying that the offender
has been engaged in twelve (12) consecutive months of treatment.

b. The PO will complete the DOC-recommended Treatment Compliance & Non-compliance Checklist
(Attachment 4) and review all documentation with their supervisor before final determination of
treatment compliance. Determination of whether the offender has come into compliance will be made
no later than two (2) weeks after DOC receives the treatment provider letter from the offender.
Documentation will be filed in the offender’s file.

c. When the PO determines the offender has met the requirements, the PO will forward this change of
status by filling out the Change of Treatment*Supervision Status form (Attachment 3) within five (5)
business days to the VCIC.

10. “Max-out Cases” Determined Non-compliant with Treatment
No later than thirty (30) days prior to the expiration date of a sentence, the Facility Caseworker will notify the
incarcerated sex offender of their non-compliance status. The Caseworker will inform them of their
responsibilities should they choose to become compliant after their sentence has expired. These responsibilities
are:
a. Sex Offender Petition
A non-compliant sex offender may petition the Committee to change their treatment non-compliance
status only upon the offender’s completion of a treatment program recommended by the DOC. They
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will have their treatment provider send a letter to the Sex Offender Review Committee stating that
the offender has completed treatment.
Completion of treatment shall be defined as:

i. The offender has substantially accepted responsibility for committing the sexual offense(s) for
which they have been convicted;

ii. The offender has meaningfully participated in treatment recommended by the DOC that is
specifically designed to reduce their risk to sexually re-offend;

iii. The offender's participation in the treatment has been sufficient both to allow their specific
treatment needs to be identified, and to demonstrate through overt behavior a willingness to work
diligently on addressing those needs;

iv. The offender is able to demonstrate an understanding of the thoughts, attitudes, emotions,
behaviors, and sexual arousal linked to their sexual offending, and can identify when these occur
in present functioning;

v. The offender demonstrates sufficiently sustained change in the thoughts, attitudes, emotions,
behaviors, and sexual arousal linked to their sexual offending, such that it is reasonable to
assume that they have reduced their risk to sexually re-offend.

b. Committee Determination

i. The Committee will make a determination only after 1) receiving a letter from the offender’s
treatment provider outlining the offender’s completion of treatment and 2) a completed
Certificate of Compliance with DOC-recommended Treatment (Attachment 6) signed by the
offender.

ii. No later than 30 days after receipt of such a letter, the Committee will make a written

determination of whether the offender has come into compliance.

iii. The Committee will forward its decision to the offender no later than five (5) business days after

making its decision.

iv. If the Committee determines that the offender has completed treatment, the Committee will

forward that information to VCIC no later than five (5) business days after the decision.

11. Designation of High-Risk
a. Determination of High-Risk

The Caseworker/PO is responsible for assessment of the offender for high-risk and referral to the

Sex Offender Review Committee.

i. The Caseworker/PO will ensure that no later than four (4) weeks after a sex offender has been
placed on probation by the Court or sentenced to incarceration, the Caseworker/PO will complete
a Static-99R on the offender. If an incarcerated sex offender is serving less than 30 days, the PO
will complete the Static-99R.

ii. For sex offenders who have been accepted for Vermont DOC supervision through the Interstate
Compact (ICAQS), the PO will complete a Static-99R on the offender.

iii. The Caseworker/PO will complete the Sex Offender Review Committee Referral Form - High
Risk Checklist (Attachment 10) on all sex offenders with a Static-99R score of 6 and above OR
who have a conviction for kidnapping, used a deadly weapon, engaged in sexual sadism, or
caused serious bodily harm to the victim.

iv. Other Assessment Factors for Increased Risk
The PO/Caseworker may recommend that an offender who scores below 6 on the Static-99R be
considered for the high-risk designation due to the nature of other risk factors, such as a pattern
of predatory sexual offending, continued failure to cooperate with DOC supervision, or recent
threats of intent to commit additional offenses. (See Attachment 10.) The PO/Caseworker will
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clearly outline these other factors on the High Risk Checklist and, if recommending an override,
obtain written supervisor approval and submit supporting documentation to the Committee.

v. Other Assessment Factors for Decreased Risk
The PO/Caseworker may recommend that a sex offender who scores above 6 on the Static-99R or
has moderating factors that reduce their risk to reoffend, such as disability that prevents access to
potential victims, or a long-term pattern of cooperation while under DOC supervision, not be
considered for the high-risk designation. The PO/Caseworker will clearly outline these other
factors on the High-Risk Checklist and, if recommending an override, obtain written supervisor
approval and submit supporting documentation used to complete the assessment to the
Committee.

vi. Referral of High-Risk Sex Offenders to the Sex Offender Review Committee
a) For offenders who are incarcerated: No later than 24 weeks prior to their anticipated release
date, the Caseworker will forward the Static-99R score sheets, the High-Risk Checklist, any
override or under-ride recommendations, and all supporting documentation to the Committee. A
copy of the High-Risk Checklist and the Static-99R score sheet will be filed in the offender’s file
and will be documented in electronic case notes.
b) For offenders under supervision who were sentenced in Vermont: No later than four (4) weeks
after assignment, the PO will forward the Static-99R score sheets, the High-Risk Checklist, any
override or under-ride recommendations, and all supporting documentation to the Committee.
They will file a copy of the Checklist and the Static-99R score sheet in the offender’s file and
document in electronic case notes.
¢) For offenders under supervision who were transferred to Vermont through the Interstate
Compact: No later than four (4) weeks after assignment, the PO will send materials, as in b)
above, to the Committee and file a copy and document as above.

b. Sex Offender Review Committee Review of High-Risk Determinations

No later than four (4) weeks after receipt of the referral from DOC staff, the Committee will make a
determination of high-risk for purposes of the VT Sex Offender Internet Registry. The four (4) week time
frame may be extended if the Committee needs additional information to make a determination.

iv.

The Committee will determine by a preponderance of the evidence that the offender poses a high
degree of dangerousness to others. “Dangerousness” includes the probability that the offender will
commit a new sexual offense.

The Committee will make its determinations based upon a majority vote.

The Committee’s written decision will include specific findings of fact to support its designation of
an offender as high-risk.

Written notification of the offender’s designation of high-risk will be sent to the referring
Caseworker or PO, the offender, and VCIC no later than five (5) business days after such a
determination has been made.

c. Notice and Opportunity to be Heard re: High-Risk Designation

A sex offender will have an opportunity to be heard regarding their high-risk determination by the
Committee. The offender must make and send a written response to the Committee no later than 30
days after receipt of the Committee’s decision.

No later than 30 days after receipt of the offender’s written response (appeal), the Committee will
conduct a hearing to review the designation of high-risk. The offender will receive at least a seven
(7) business day notice of the time, date, and location of the hearing. The hearing will give the
offender and their attorney (if the offender chooses to be represented) an opportunity to be heard and
present relevant evidence. Such hearings may be conducted via video or telephone conferencing.
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iii. The Committee will issue a written decision no later than fourteen (14) days after the hearing. A
copy of this decision will be forwarded to the offender, the VCIC, and the offender’s supervising
Caseworker or PO within five (5) business days of such a decision. This decision will serve as
notification to VCIC if an offender is to be removed from high-risk status for purposes of the Sex
Offender Internet Registry.

iv. If written notice was required by statute, the Committee will also send its decision to the DOC
Director of Victim Services, who will notify the victim if the victim is registered on the automated
victim notification system (VANS.)

d. Superior Court Review
Upon exhausting the administrative remedies, a sex offender who is designated as high-risk may appeal
to Superior Court as provided in 13 V.S.A. § 5411b.

e. Petitioning to Change a High-Risk Designation
A sex offender who has been designated high-risk and who has exhausted their administrative remedies,
may petition the Committee for a change once every two (2) years from high-risk designation.

12. High-Risk Non-compliant (13 VSA § 5411d)

a. An offender shall be designated as a high risk non-compliant sex offender if the person:
i. Isincarcerated on or after July 1, 2007 for:

lewd and lascivious conduct with a child as defined in 13 VSA. § 2602,

sexual assault as defined in 13 VSA § 3252,

aggravated sexual assault as defined in 13 VSA § 3253, or

any attempt to commit a crime listed herein or a comparable offense in another jurisdiction of the

United States;

ii. Is not subject to indeterminate life sentences under 13 VSA § 3271,

iii. Is designated as a high-risk sex offender pursuant to 13 VSA § 5411b;

iv. Is non-compliant with sex offender treatment as defined by this directive.

b. Non-compliant High-Risk Sex Offenders who are “Maxing-out” Their DOC Sentence
The Facility Caseworker is responsible for the following if a non-compliant high-risk sex offender is
completing a sentence that is expiring and is being released from incarceration:
I. No less than thirty (30) days prior to release, the Caseworker will have the offender read and sign the
Notice Form Regarding Non-compliant High-Risk Sex Offenders (Attachment 9.)
ii. No less than thirty (30) days prior to release, the Caseworker will inform VCIC by completing and
sending the Change of Treatment*Supervision Status form (Attachment 3.)
iii. Within 24 hours of the non-compliant high-risk sex offender’s release from confinement, the
Caseworker will send an email to VCIC stating that the offender has been released. The Caseworker will
also put the email in electronic case notes.

c. A non-compliant high-risk sex offender may petition the District Court to be relieved from the heightened
Registry requirements in 13 V.S.A. § 5411d(f)(1) once every five (5) years from the date of designation.

TRAINING
1. Human Resources Development will coordinate training with the Facilities Executive and the Field
Services Executive in order to reach all staff that have responsibilities listed in this administrative
directive.
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2. Human Resources Development will train Facility Superintendents and District Managers on the
database applications regarding the Sex Offender Registry which are relevant to this administrative
directive.

3. The Facility Superintendents and District Managers will ensure that all Living Unit Supervisors and
Casework Supervisors 1) understand their responsibilities; and 2) that they train casework staff,
probation officers, and other relevant staff on the procedures, timelines, and appropriate database
entry for which they are responsible.

QUALITY ASSURANCE

1. The Facility Superintendents and District Managers are responsible for ensuring that staff document
relevant Sex Offender Registry Information in the DOC database.

2. The Facility Superintendents and District Managers are responsible for reviewing data within the database
applications supporting Registry compliance on a monthly basis. This is to ensure staff compliance with
entering appropriate and relevant data.

3. The Sex Offender Review Committee is responsible for ensuring that referrals and decisions on referrals are
documented, as well as results of high-risk designations and appeals.

4. The Commissioner’s Office will ensure that staff have access to all current VCIC Sex Offender Registry and
Department forms needed for this directive.

5. The Facility Superintendents and District Managers are responsible for ensuring that staff use final,
approved statewide forms for this directive.
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ATTACHMENT 1la.- SAMPLE

VERMONT SEX OFFENDER REGISTRY
NOTIFICATION OF REQUIREMENT TO REGISTER

13 VSA, Chapter 167, Subchapter 3 established the Vermont Sex Offender Registry. The crime(s) you have
been convicted of requires you to register with the Vermont Sex Offender Registry located at:

. Vermont Criminal Information Center (VCIC) =9

‘_.ﬁ Department of Public Safety M)
Yo 103 South Main Street \ o) /JJ
Waterbury, Vermont 05671-2101 =
802-241-5400
1. Name:
Last First Middle

2. Date of Birth: 3. Sex: 4. Race: 5. SS#:

6. Height: 7. Weight: 8. Eye Color: 9. Hair Color:
10. Conditions of Release: 11. DOC Field Office/Facility:

Furlough / Probation / Parole

12. DOC Supervising Probation Officer:

13. Treatment Compliance: (Currently Enrolled or Entering Treatment) Yes: __ No:

14. High Risk Designation:  Yes: No:

15. Current Home (911) Address:

Number Street City State Zip

***YQU MUST PROVIDE THE MAILING ADDRESS EVEN IF IT IS THE SAME AS THE PHYSICAL
ADDRESS.***

16. Current Mailing Address:

Number Street/PO Box Apt/Unit # City State Zip
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17. Telephone #: 18. Are there persons under the age of 18 living with you? Yes:  No:

19. Current Employer:

Employer’s Address:

20. Post - Secondary School (college):

School Address:

21. Conviction Information:

***YQOU MUST PROVIDE THE AGE OF THE VICTIM(S).***

Docket # Date of Conviction Offense Sentence Age/Gender of Victim

Docket # Date of Conviction Offense Sentence Age/Gender of Victim

Docket # Date of Conviction Offense Sentence Age/Gender of Victim

Docket # Date of Conviction Offense Sentence Age/Gender of Victim

22. Any victims under 13 yrs old? Yes: No:

23. Fingerprints/Photographs: Attached: or Previously Submitted On: By:
Agency

By law you must comply with the following requirements:
* Registrant’s Initials signify understanding of each requirement.*
Registrant’s Initials:
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Q 1. You must notify your Probation Officer within 24 hours of any change of address, employment
information or any enrollment in any post-secondary educational institution for as long as you are being
supervised by the Vermont Dept of Corrections.

I understand this requirement.

Q 2. If your employer requires you to work or volunteer at a college campus, you must provide the name
of the post-secondary educational institution to the Registry. If you become employed or you attend a
post-secondary educational institution in another state, while residing in Vermont, you must register
with that state.

I understand this requirement.

Q 3. If there is anyone in your residence under 18, or if someone under 18 moves into your residence, you
must notify the Registry and/or your Probation officer within three (3) days.
I understand this requirement.

Q 4. After you are discharged from supervision of the Department of Corrections you must notify VCIC of
any changes to the information listed above in #’s 1, 2 and 3 within three (3) days.
I understand this requirement.

Q 5. If you intend to move to another state, you must notify VCIC about your change of address within
three (3) days.
You must contact the local law enforcement agency in the new state immediately to comply with their
registry laws.
I understand this requirement.

O 6. Within 10 days of your birth date, you will receive a form from VVCIC verifying your current physical
and mailing address, current employment information, and any enrollment in any post-secondary
educational institution. You must complete the form and return it to VCIC within ten (10) days.

I understand this requirement.

Q 7. If your information is posted on the Internet, you must provide a new photograph every year at the
time of your Address Verification requirement.
I understand this requirement.

Q 8. If you have been designated as a Violent Sexual Predator, you must verify your address every 90 days
with the Registry.
I understand this requirement.

Q 9. If you become Homeless, you must contact the Registry on a daily basis with your exact location.
I understand this requirement.

1 10. You must continue to comply with the requirements listed above for ten (10) years from the date you
are discharged from supervision from the Department of Corrections. If you have been designated a
Sexually Violent Predator, a Sexual Recidivist, have been convicted of a Sexually Violent Crime as
described in 13 VSA Chapter 167, 85407, Subsection (f)1, 2 and 3, or have been designated as a non-
compliant high-risk sex offender (13 VSA 8 5411d), you must continue to comply with the requirements
listed above for life.
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I understand this requirement.

Failure to comply with any of the requirements indicated above is grounds for a warrant to be issued for your
arrest. If you are convicted of failing to comply with the law, you could be imprisoned for not more than two
(2) years and/or fined not more than $1000. A second or subsequent offense could result in a sentence of
imprisonment of not more than three (3) years and/or a fine of not more than $5000.

I understand the penalty of failing to comply with these requirements.

Registrant’s Initials

I have read and understand the above requirements of the Vermont Sex Offender Registry.

REGISTRANT’S NAME (PRINT) REGISTRANT’S SIGNATURE DATE

WITNESS NAME (PRINT) WITNESS SIGNATURE DATE

CHECK HERE IF REGISTRANT REFUSED TO INITIAL OR SIGN THIS NOTIFICATION:

Cc: Sex Offender file, sex offender

Revised 5.06.10
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ATTACHMENT 1b. - SAMPLE

VERMONT SEX OFFENDER REGISTRY
NOTIFICATION OF REQUIREMENT TO REGISTER

Registrants Convicted In a State or Jurisdiction Other Than Vermont

13 VSA, Chapter 167, Subchapter 3 established the Vermont Sex Offender Registry. The crime(s) you have
been convicted of require(s) you to register with the Vermont Sex Offender Registry located at:

! Vermont Criminal Information Center (VCIC) =9

‘_* Department of Public Safety b
Yoo 103 South Main Street |\ v /fj'l
Waterbury, Vermont 05671-2101 =
802-241-5400
1. Name:
Last First Middle
2. Date of Birth: 3. Sex: 4. Race: 5. SS#:
6. Height: 7. Weight: 8. Eye Color: 9. Hair Color:

10. Current Home (911) Address:

Number Street City State Zip

***YOU MUST PROVIDE THE MAILING ADDRESS EVEN IF IT IS THE SAME AS THE PHYSICAL
ADDRESS.#**

11. Current Mailing Address:

Number Street/PO Box Apt/Unit # City State Zip

12. Telephone #:

13. Are there persons under the age of 18 living with you? Yes: No:

14. Current Employer:

Employer’s Address:

15. Post - Secondary School (college):
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16. Conviction Information:

***YQOU MUST PROVIDE THE AGE OF THE VICTIM(S).***

Docket # Date of Conviction Offense Sentence Age/Gender of Victim
Docket # Date of Conviction Offense Sentence Age/Gender of Victim
Docket # Date of Conviction Offense Sentence Age/Gender of Victim
Docket # Date of Conviction Offense Sentence Age/Gender of Victim
17. Any victims under 13 yrs old? Yes: No:

18. Fingerprints/Photographs: Attached: or Previously Submitted On: By:

Agency

By law vou must comply with the following requirements:

* Registrant’s Initials signify understanding of each requirement*

Registrant’s Initials:

O 1. You must notify the Registry within (three) 3 days of any change of address, employment
information, or any enrollment in any post-secondary educational institution for as long as you are being

supervised by the Vermont Dept of Corrections.

I understand this requirement.

Q 2. If your employer requires you to work or volunteer at a college campus, you must provide the name
of the post-secondary educational institution to the Registry. If you become employed or you attend a
post-secondary educational institution in another state, while residing in Vermont, you must register

with that state.

I understand this requirement.

Q 3. If there is anyone in your residence under 18, or if someone under 18 moves into your residence, you
must notify the Registry within three (3) days.

I understand this requirement.

Q 4. If you intend to move to another state, you must notify VCIC about your change of address within

three (3) days.

You must contact the local law enforcement agency in the new state immediately to comply with their

registry laws.

I understand this requirement.
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O 5. Within ten (10) days of your birth date, you will receive a form from VVCIC verifying your current
physical and mailing address, current employment information, and any enrollment in any post-
secondary educational institution. You must complete the form and return it to VCIC within ten (10)
days. I understand this requirement.

Q 6. If your information is posted on the Internet, you must provide a new photograph every year at the
time of your Address Verification requirement. I understand this requirement.

Q 7. If you have been designated as a Violent Sexual Predator, you must verify your address every 90 days
with the Registry. I understand this requirement.

O 8. If you become Homeless, you must contact the Registry on a daily basis with your exact location.
I understand this requirement.

O 9. You must continue to comply with the requirements listed above for ten (10) years from the date you
are discharged from supervision from the Department of Corrections. If you have been designated a
Sexually Violent Predator, a Sexual Recidivist, or have been convicted of a Sexually Violent Crime as
described in 13 VSA Chapter 167, § 5407, Subsection (f), 1, 2 and 3; have been designated as a non-
compliant high-risk sex offender (13 VSA § 5411d); or if you are convicted of a subsequent registerable
offense while residing in the state of Vermont, you must continue to comply with the requirements listed
above for life. I understand this requirement.

Failure to comply with any of the requirements indicated above is grounds for a warrant to be issued for your
arrest. If you are convicted of failing to comply with the law, you could be imprisoned for not more than two
(2) years and/or fined not more than $1000. A second or subsequent offense could result in a sentence of
imprisonment of not more than three (3) years and/or a fine of not more than $5000.

I understand the penalty of failing to comply with these requirements.
Registrant’s Initials

I have read and understand the above requirements of the Vermont Sex Offender Registry.

REGISTRANT’S NAME (PRINT) REGISTRANT’S SIGNATURE DATE

WITNESS NAME (PRINT) WITNESS SIGNATURE DATE

CHECK HERE IF REGISTRANT REFUSED TO INITIAL OR SIGN THIS NOTIFICATION:

Cc: Sex Offender file, sex offender

New 5.06.10
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VERMONT SEX OFFENDER REGISTRY
CHANGE OF ADDRESS * EMPLOYMENT * EDUCATION FORM
(For registrants currently under supervision of the VT DOC)
This form is to be sent immediately to:
Vermont Criminal Information Center, Department of Public Safety
103 South Main Street, Waterbury, VT 05671-2101
802-241-5400
***Registrants must report any change to information below to their PO within 24 hours of the change.
DOC staff must report the change to VCIC within 24 hours of receipt of the change from the registrant.***

Please be sure to fill out the entire form. DATE
1. Registrant’s Name:
2. Date of Birth: 3. SS#:
4. Home Address:
Number Street City Zip

Physical address MUST include Street Number.

5. Mailing Address:

(YOU MUST PROVIDE THE MAILING ADDRESS EVEN IF IT IS THE SAME AS THE PHYSICAL ADDRESS.)

6. ****** 3, SEX OFFENDER HAS BEEN RE-INCARCERATED Date Fkdedk

(Circle a. or b. if applicable)

*#*#**h, HAS BEEN RELEASED FROM INCARCERATION  Date Fkdkkk

7. Registrant’s Phone Number:

8. Is anyone under 18 yrs old living with you? Yes

No

EMPLOYER /EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

9. Employer Name:

10. Employer Phone:

11. Employer Address:

POST-SECONDARY EDUCATION INSTITUTION

12. School or College Attending:

13. School/College Address:

Supervising PO/Caseworker:

DOC Field Office/Facility:

Registrant’s Signature:

Cc: Sex Offender file

Revised 5.06.10
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ATTACHMENT 3 - SAMPLE

VERMONT SEX OFFENDER REGISTRY
CHANGE OF TREATMENT * SUPERVISION STATUS FORM

This form is to be sent immediately to:
Vermont Criminal Information Center
Department of Public Safety
103 South Main Street
Waterbury, VT 05671-2101
802-241-5400

Date:

1. Registrant’s Name:

2. Date of Birth: 3. SS#

4. Home Address:

Number Street City Zip

5. Mailing Address:

(YOU MUST PROVIDE THE MAILING ADDRESS EVEN IF IT IS THE SAME AS THE PHYSICAL

ADDRESS.)
6. Registrant’s Phone Number:
7. Is anyone under 18 years old living with you? Yes: No:
TREATMENT STATUS
8. Completed Continuing* Non-Compliant** (Check one.)

SUPERVISION STATUS

9. Parole/Furlough Date of Expiration:

10. Probation Closed Date:

11. Sentence “Maxed Out”:

Registrant’s Signature:

*Provide Registrant with Certification of Compliance with DOC-recommended Treatment
** Attach DOC-Recommended Treatment Compliance & Non-Compliance Checklist to this Form

Cc: Sex Offender file Revised 5.06.10
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ATTACHMENT 4 - SAMPLE

DOC-RECOMMENDED TREATMENT COMPLIANCE AND NON-COMPLIANCE
CHECKLIST

Offender Name: DOB:

Conviction (Index Sex Offense) and Date of Conviction:

Supervising PO or Caseworker: Date:

Offender is Incarcerated:

In Compliance
Offender completed facility treatment and will be entering community-based treatment when released.

Offender will be entering community-based treatment when released.

Not in Compliance
Offender entered, but withdrew from DOC-recommended treatment.
Offender entered, but was terminated from DOC-recommended treatment.

Offender refused DOC-recommended treatment.

Offender is under Community Supervision:

In Compliance

Offender has completed DOC-recommended treatment.

Offender is in compliance with DOC-recommended treatment.

Not in Compliance
Offender is NOT in compliance with DOC-recommended treatment.
Cc: Sex Offender file

Revised 5.06.10
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ATTACHMENT 5 - SAMPLE
SEX OFFENDER NOTICE OF NON-COMPLIANCE LETTER
(DOC letterhead)
Date:
Re: Notice of Non-Compliance with DOC-Recommended Treatment
Dear Mr. XXXX:

Pursuant to 13 V.S.A. § 5411a(a), the Department of Corrections is required, for purposes of the Sex
Offender Internet Registry, to determine if a sex offender is not in compliance with DOC-recommended
treatment. Those sex offenders determined by the Department of Corrections to not be in compliance will be
identified on the Sex Offender Internet Registry.

You have been found to be in non-compliance because:
You refused DOC-recommended treatment.
You entered DOC-recommended treatment, but withdrew prior to completion.
You entered DOC-recommended treatment, but were terminated unsuccessfully.

If you are under supervision, you can come into compliance by successfully participating in a DOC-
recommended treatment program for a minimum of twelve (12) consecutive months. To remain in
compliance, you must then successfully complete the recommended program.

OR
If you are no longer under supervision, you can come into compliance by successfully completing a
DOC-recommended treatment program. Upon completion, you must submit a letter of completion from
your treatment provider to the Sex Offender Review Committee, 50 Cherry Street, Suite 101,
Burlington, VT 05401. Only when the Sex Offender Review Committee has determined that you have
successfully completed treatment will you be considered in compliance for purposes of the Sex Offender
Internet Registry.

Pursuant to 13 V.S.A. § 5411a(a), you have the opportunity to appeal this determination to Superior
Court.
Sincerely,

Probation Officer/Caseworker
(Delete the paragraph above that is not relevant to this offender.)
Cc: Sex offender file Revised 5.06.10
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ATTACHMENT 6 - SAMPLE

CERTIFICATION OF COMPLIANCE WITH DOC-RECOMMENDED TREATMENT
Dear Vermont Crime Information Center:

This letter is to certify that I:

(print your name and date of birth)

entered sex offender treatment on (date)

with (name of treatment provider.)

Below is the signature of my treatment provider certifying that | am currently in good standing in their program.

Treatment Provider (print name) Telephone

Treatment Provider (signature) Date

My signature below indicates my permission for Vermont Crime Information Center staff to contact my
treatment provider to verify my compliance in their sex offender treatment program as of this date.

Offender Signature Date

** This form must be completed every month by you starting from the date of your parole or furlough

expiration. It must be sent prior to the 1 month deadline to: Vermont Criminal Information Center

(VCIC), 103 South Main Street, Waterbury, VT 05671-2101. If VCIC does not receive this completed

form every month, you will be placed on the Internet Registry as being in non-compliance with

treatment. You must submit this form every month until your treatment provider writes a letter to the

Sex Offender Review Committee stating that you have completed treatment & the Committee accepts it.
I understand my above responsibility.

Sex Offender Signature: Caseworker/PO Signature:

Date:

Revised 5.06.10
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ATTACHMENT 7 - SAMPLE
VERMONT DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS

LAW ENFORCEMENT NOTIFICATION: DESIGNATED HIGH RISK
SEX OFFENDER RELEASE FORM

(Insert Current Photos of Sex Offender, side and front.)

Today’s date:

Offender Name: DOB:
Hair Color: Weight: Height:

Race: Eye Color: Complexion:

Place of Birth:

Sex: Citizenship:

Marital status:
Release Date:

Offense(s):

Docket #(s):
Sentence: Sentence Date:

Supervision Status:

____Furlough

_____Probation/Parole

____Served Maximum Sentence and will no longer be under DOC supervision

Proposed Residence:
Family Contact:

For More Information Please Call:
= (Insert local office contact.)

Internet Posting: www.dps.state.vt.us
Cc: Sex Offender file Revised 5.06.10
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VERMONT DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS
LAW ENFORCEMENT NOTIFICATION: DESIGNATED HIGH RISK
SEX OFFENDER RELEASE FORM

**CONFIDENTIAL: FOR LAW ENFORCEMENT & CITY/TOWN OFFICIALS ONLY**

Offender’s Name: DOB:

P&P Office:

The Vermont Department of Corrections is providing this summary of information about

(sex offender’s name)

to law enforcement agencies to assist them in preparing for his release on from incarceration to a
(date)

location in . Some of this information is protected by confidentiality laws, and the further
(town)
dissemination of such information should not be done without advice from appropriate legal counsel.

Summary of Current Offense:

Prior Convictions with Brief Summary:

Offense Patterns:

Minimum Release Date:
Maximum Release Date:

Supervision History:

Programming History:

Risk to Re-Offend:

Compared to other incarcerated sex offenders, (insert name)’s risk to commit another sexual offense is
considered to be in the (insert risk level from VTPSA scores), and his risk for general criminal recidivism is
considered to be in the (insert risk level from LSI-R score). Based on his past history and self-report, if he were
to sexually re-offend, his most likely victims would be (insert his preferences, including age, gender,
relationship, grooming patterns).

Cc: Sex Offender file Revised 5.06.10
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ATTACHMENT 8 - SAMPLE

VERMONT DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS
LAW ENFORCEMENT NOTIFICATION: STANDARD SEX OFFENDER
RELEASE FORM

CONFIDENTIAL: FOR LAW ENFORCEMENT AND CITY/TOWN OFFICIALS ONLY

To: (specific police agency)

From: (specific staff, phone # and office)

Date:

This is to inform you of the release of sex offender

(Print name)
from to community supervision.

DOB:
Address:

Summary of current offense: (Very brief overview, couple of sentences)

Risk to Reoffend: (Sex offender risk level, potential victim(s), and circumstances)

(Insert Current Photos of Sex Offender, side and front, at the bottom here.)

Cc: Sex offender file Revised 5.06.10
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ATTACHMENT 9 - SAMPLE
VERMONT DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS

NOTICE FORM REGARDING NON-COMPLIANT DESIGNATED HIGH-RISK
SEX OFFENDERS

You have been designated a non-compliant high-risk sex offender, per statute. You have been convicted of at
least one of the following sexual offenses:

» lewd & lascivious conduct with a child;

= sexual assault;

= aggregated sexual assault;

= an attempt to commit any of the above; or

= acomparable offense in another jurisdiction of the United States.
As a non-compliant high-risk sex offender as designated by the VVermont Department of Corrections, it is
necessary that you understand what is required of you before being released into the community and out of the
custody of the Department. Pursuant to 13 VV.S.A. 8 5411d, as a non-compliant high-risk sex offender, you
must:

(1) Report to the Department of Public Safety (“DPS”) or your local police department as follows:

(@) In person, within fifteen (15) business days from the date of release from the Department’s
supervision, and every 30 days thereafter;

(b) Prior to any change of address, unless the change of address is unanticipated; then you must
report within one (1) business day of the change of address;

(c) Prior to enrollment in or separation from any post-secondary educational institution, unless the
change in school status is unanticipated; then you must report within one (1) business day of the
change; and

(d) Within one (1) business day of any change of employment.

(2) In addition to the Registry information already required (i.e., your name, date of birth, physical
description, address, Social Security number, fingerprints, current photograph, current employment, and
name and address of post-secondary education in which you are enrolled,) you must also provide DPS
with the make, model, color, registration, and license plate number of any vehicle you operate, prior to
operation.

(3) Have your digital photograph updated annually (once a year), which will be arranged by DPS. Once
you are requested by the DPS to report to have your photograph taken for the Internet Registry, you
must reply to the request within 30 business days.

(4) Allow the DPS to conduct periodic unannounced Registry compliance checks on you to verify the
accuracy of Registry information. DPS may arrange to have these checks performed by local law
enforcement as well.

***%* |t is important that you understand that if you violate any of these requirements, you shall be imprisoned
for a maximum term of life. A sentence may be suspended in whole or in part, or you may be eligible for
parole or release on conditional re-entry or furlough, provided you are subject to electronic monitoring using an
active global position system, in addition to the Department’s intensive supervision.
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*xx** Also, in any criminal proceeding for violating any of the Registry requirements for non-compliant high-
risk sex offenders, you shall be prohibited from challenging your status as a non-compliant high-risk sex
offender.

***** Further, you may petition the District Court to be relieved from heightened Registry requirements once
every five (5) years from the date of designation (per 13 V.S.A. § 5411d (f)(1). However, you will have the
burden of proving by a preponderance of the evidence that you:

(1) No longer qualify as a high-risk offender as defined by 13 V.S.A. 8 5401 and the rules adopted by
the Department in accordance with 13 V.S.A. § 5411b; and

(2) Have complied with and completed DOC-recommended treatment as provided by the Department’s
administrative directives/policies.

I have read and received a copy of this notice form. I also understand that, as a non-compliant high-risk
sex offender, in addition to the Sex Offender Internet Registry requirements, I must comply with the
requirements described above. If I violate any of the requirements described above, I risk being
imprisoned for a maximum term of life.

Offender Printed Name

Offender Signature Date

Witness Printed Name

Witness Signature Date

Cc: Sex offender file, sex offender Revised 5.06.10
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ATTACHMENT 10 - SAMPLE
SEX OFFENDER REVIEW COMMITTEE REFERRAL FORM

HIGH RISK CHECKLIST
Offender Name: DOB:
Offender Address
Conviction (Index Sexual Offense) Date of Conviction
If currently incarcerated, include the following: Min. Release Date: Max. Release Date:
Supervising PO or Caseworker: Date of Referral:

High Risk Criteria: Refer ONLY sex offenders who have committed a qualifying offense and have any of the
following characteristics. Please note: If you are referring a female sex offender, statutory rapist, possession of child
pornography-only offender, or a juvenile sex offender (under age 18 when the sex offense was committed), fill in #2 only.

1) Static-99R score = 6 or higher: __ (Check what is appropriate.)
OR
2) Current or past sexual or non-sexual convictions involving any of the following (check all that apply):
Current Past (Include documentation, affidavit, or PSI)
a Use of a deadly weapon
b. Conviction for kidnapping
c. Sexual sadism; i.e., torture, mutilation, burning, bondage
d. Death or serious bodily injury to the victim requiring hospitalization

Override and Under-ride Recommendations
Indicate whether you are recommending an increase or decrease in risk level. If yes to either, briefly explain your reasons
and check all that apply.

a. Recommend increasing risk status: ____YES___NO

Pattern of predatory sexual offending. “Predatory” means an act directed at a stranger, or a person with
whom a relationship has been established or promoted for the primary purpose of victimization. “Pattern” means
having two or more sexual offense victims and typically, one or more prior sex offense convictions. (Include
documentation.)

Continued failure to cooperate with DOC supervision (Include documentation. See below.)

Recent threats or expressions of intent to commit additional offenses (Include documentation.)

b. Recommend decreasing risk status: _ YES __ NO
Disability prevents access to potential victims (Explain and provide documentation.)
Long-term pattern of cooperation while under DOC supervision (Include documentation.)
Documentation
Include with this referral form ALL of the following available documents:
Current Record Check (MUST include most recent conviction and disposition)
Static-99R Scoring Sheet
Affidavit/s of Current Sex Offense/s
Affidavit/s of Prior Sexually-related Offenses (both convicted and dismissed charges)
Pre-sentence Investigation Report and/or Psychosexual Evaluation
Other. Please list any other documents sent.
Cc: Sex Offender File Revised 5.06.10
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